2022 NBA All-Star Game: List of every All-Star Game MVP winner


NBA.com Staff

The NBA All-Star Game is an annual showcase of some of basketball’s biggest stars as selected by their peers, the fans, members of the media and each of the league’s head coaches.

NASCAR’s Bubba Wallace goes one-on-one with FOX 5’s DJ Shockley

Once all of the NBA’s most talented players take the floor together in the World’s Greatest Pickup Game, greatness is bound to happen.

As you would expect, the all-time list of All-Star Game MVP winners is full of Hall of Famers or Hall of Famers-to-be.

Take a look at the full history of what is now known as the Kobe Bryant All-Star Game MVP award.


MORE: Why the NBA All-Star MVP is named after Kobe Bryant? 

NBA All-Star Game MVP Award Winners

2022Stephen CurryGolden State Warriors50 PTS, 16 3PM, 5 REBS, 2 ASTS, 2 BLKS
2021Giannis AntetokounmpoMilwaukee Bucks35 PTS (16-16 FGs), 7 REB, 3 AST
2020Kawhi LeonardLA Clippers30 PTS, 7 REB, 4 AST, 2 STL
2019Kevin DurantGolden State Warriors31 PTS, 7 REB, 2 AST
2018LeBron JamesCleveland Cavaliers29 PTS, 10 REB, 8 AST
2017Anthony DavisNew Orleans Pelicans52 PTS, 10 REB
2016Russell WestbrookOklahoma City Thunder31 PTS, 8 REB, 5 AST, 5 STL
2015Russell WestbrookOklahoma City Thunder41 PTS, 5 REB, 3 STL, 1 AST
2014Kyrie IrvingCleveland Cavaliers31 PTS, 14 AST, 5 REB
2013Chris PaulLA Clippers20 PTS, 15 AST, 4 STL
2012Kevin DurantOklahoma City Thunder36 PTS, 7 REB, 3 AST, 3 STL
2011Kobe BryantLos Angeles Lakers37 PTS, 14 REB, 3 AST, 3 STL
2010Dwyane WadeMiami Heat28 PTS, 11 AST, 6 REB, 5 STL
2009Shaquille O’Neal (Co-MVP)Phoenix Suns17 PTS, 5 REB, 3 AST
2009Kobe Bryant (Co-MVP)Los Angeles Lakers27 PTS, 4 REB, 4 AST, 4 STL
2008LeBron JamesCleveland Cavaliers27 PTS, 9 AST, 8 REB, 2 STL, 2 BLK
2007Kobe BryantLos Angeles Lakers31 PTS, 6 AST, 6 STL, 5 REB
2006LeBron JamesCleveland Cavaliers29 PTS, 6 REB, 2 AST, 2 STL
2005Allen IversonPhiladelphia 76ers15 PTS, 10 AST, 5 STL, 4 REB
2004Shaquille O’NealLos Angeles Lakers24 PTS, 11 REB, 2 STL, 2 BLK
2003Kevin GarnettMinnesota Timberwolves37 PTS, 9 REB, 5 STL, 3 AST
2002Kobe BryantLos Angeles Lakers31 PTS, 5 REB, 5 AST
2001Allen IversonPhiladelphia 76ers25 PTS, 5 AST, 4 STL
2000Shaquille O’Neal (Co-MVP)Los Angeles Lakers22 PTS, 9 REB, 3 AST, 3 BLK
2000Tim Duncan (Co-MVP)San Antonio Spurs24 PTS, 14 REB, 4 AST
1999No game was played  
1998Michael JordanChicago Bulls23 PTS, 8 AST, 6 REB, 3 STL
1997Glen RiceCharlotte Hornets26 PTS, 2 STL
1996Michael JordanChicago Bulls20 PTS, 4 REB
1995Mitch RichmondSacramento Kings23 PTS, 4 REB, 2 AST
1994Scottie PippenChicago Bulls29 PTS, 11 REB, 4 STL
1993Karl Malone (Co-MVP)Utah Jazz28 PTS, 10 REB, 2 BLK
1993John Stockton (Co-MVP)Utah Jazz9 PTS, 15 AST, 6 REB, 2 STL
1992Magic JohnsonLos Angeles Lakers25 PTS, 9 AST, 5 REB, 2 STL
1991Charles BarkleyPhiladelphia 76ers17 PTS, 22 REB, 4 AST
1990Magic JohnsonLos Angeles Lakers22 PTS, 6 REB, 4 AST
1989Karl MaloneUtah Jazz28 PTS, 9 REB, 3 AST
1988Michael JordanChicago Bulls40 PTS, 8 REB, 4 STL, 4 BLK, 3 AST
1987Tom ChambersSeattle SuperSonics34 PTS, 4 REB, 4 STL
1986Isiah ThomasDetroit Pistons30 PTS, 10 AST, 5 STL
1985Ralph SampsonHouston Rockets24 PTS, 10 REB
1984Isiah ThomasDetroit Pistons21 PTS, 15 AST, 5 REB, 4 STL
1983Julius ErvingPhiladelphia 76ers25 PTS, 6 REB, 3 AST, 2 BLK
1982Larry BirdBoston Celtics19 PTS, 12 REB, 5 AST
1981Tiny ArchibaldBoston Celtics9 PTS, 9 AST, 5 REB, 3 STL
1980George GervinSan Antonio Spurs34 PTS, 10 REB, 3 AST, 3 STL
1979David ThompsonDenver Nuggets25 PTS, 5 REB
1978Randy SmithBuffalo Braves27 PTS, 7 REB, 6 AST, 2 STL
1977Julius ErvingPhiladelphia 76ers30 PTS, 12 REB, 4 STL
1976Dave BingWashington Bullets16 PTS, 4 AST, 3 REB
1975Walt FrazierNew York Knicks30 PTS, 5 REB, 4 STL
1974Bob LanierDetroit Pistons24 PTS, 10 REB
1973Dave CowensBoston Celtics15 PTS, 13 REB
1972Jerry WestLos Angeles Lakers13 PTS, 6 REB, 5 AST
1971Lenny WilkensSeattle SuperSonics21 PTS
1970Willis ReedNew York Knicks21 PTS, 11 REB
1969Oscar RobertsonCincinnati Royals24 PTS, 6 REB, 5 AST
1968Hal GreerPhiladelphia 76ers21 PTS, 3 REB, 3 AST
1967Rick BarrySan Francisco Warriors38 PTS, 6 REB, 3 AST
1966Adrian SmithCincinnati Royals24 PTS, 8 REB, 3 AST
1965Jerry LucasCincinnati Royals25 PTS, 10 REB
1964Oscar RobertsonCincinnati Royals26 PTS, 14 REB, 8 AST
1963Bill RussellBoston Celtics19 PTS, 24 REB, 5 AST
1962Bob PettitSt. Louis Hawks25 PTS, 27 REB
1961Oscar RobertsonCincinnati Royals23 PTS, 14 AST, 9 REB
1960Wilt ChamberlainPhiladelphia Warriors23 PTS, 25 REB
1959Elgin Baylor (Co-MVP)Minneapolis Lakers24 PTS, 11 REB
1959Bob Pettit (Co-MVP)St. Louis Hawks25 PTS, 16 REB, 5 AST
1958Bob PettitSt. Louis Hawks28 PTS, 26 REB
1957Bob CousyBoston Celtics10 PTS, 7 AST, 5 REB
1956Bob PettitSt. Louis Hawks20 PTS, 24 REB, 7 AST
1955Bill SharmanBoston Celtics15 PTS, 4 REB
1954Bob CousyBoston Celtics20 PTS, 11 REB, 4 AST
1953George MikanMinneapolis Lakers22 PTS 16 REB, 2 AST
1952Paul ArizinPhiladelphia Warriors26 PTS, 6 REB
1951Ed MacauleyBoston Celtics20 PTS, 6 REB

Who has won the most All-Star Game MVP Awards?

Bob Pettit (1956, 1958, 1959 1962) and Kobe Bryant (2002, 2007, 2009, 2011) have both won NBA All-Star Game MVP a record four times. Pettit and Bryant are two of 14 players to have won the award more than once.


How many times have there been Co-MVPs?

There have been Co-MVPs at the NBA All-Star Game on four different occasions (1959, 1993, 2000, 2009). In the most recent occurrence, Lakers guard Kobe Bryant and Suns center Shaquille O’Neal shared the honor in 2009.

Who are the youngest and oldest winners?

LeBron James (21 years and 51 days) became the youngest player to win All-Star Game MVP in 2006 while Shaquille O’Neal (36 years and 346 days) became the oldest player to win the award in 2009.

%d bloggers like this: